2008 Wuerffel Trophy Nominees Announced

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — The All Sports Association announced today the nominees for the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy. The nominations received represented over 50 universities in the NCAA’s Football Bowl Subdivision.
Nominees included 2007 Wuerffel Trophy Finalists Darryl Richard (Georgia Tech – DT), Todd Peterson (Nebraska – WR) and Travis Dekker (USAF Academy).
Prior Wuerffel Trophy nominees include Tim Tebow (Florida – QB), Sha’reff Rasheed (Central Florida – DB), Tim Hiller (W. Michigan – QB), Alex Derenthal (Temple – Center), Louie Sakoda (Utah – P/PK) and Joey Hudson (Miami Ohio – LB).
Notable first time nominees include Matthew Stafford (Georgia – QB), Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame – QB), George Hypolite (Colorado – DL), Ryan McDonald (Illinois – C), Chase Danel (Missouri – QB), Quin Harris (La. Tech. – LB), Alex Mack (California – C) and Graham Harrell (Texas Tech – QB).
“This is an absolutely tremendous nomination class”, commented All Sports Association President Mike Coupe’. “We have multiple nominations from every conference (in NCAA Bowl Football Subdivision) that include 7 of this year’s 15 Draddy Trophy Finalists as well. We at the All Sports Association are extremely proud of all of these young men.”
A complete list of the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy nominees can be found at http://www.wuerffeltrophy.org/2008nominees.html.
Named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player that best combines exemplary community service, with academic and athletic achievement.
The 2008 Wuerffel Trophy finalists will be announced on November 12, 2008 and distributed to the award’s National Selection Committee for voting. Formal announcement of the winner will occur on Tuesday, December 9, 2008. Presentation of the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy will be at the All Sports Association’s 40th Annual Awards Dinner on February 20, 2009, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.
Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: (2007) Paul Smith, QB, Tulsa, (2006) Joel Penton, DL, Ohio State and (2005) Rudy Niswanger, OL, Louisiana State.


For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, contact Tom Brassell at (850) 585-5512 or visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment

You can read next