Biletnikoff Award Adds Wuerffel Trophy to their National Selection Committee

Wuerffel Trophy’s Executive Director, Tom Brassell, named as National Voter
2014 Biletnikoff Award Winner Amari Cooper of the University of Alabama
2014 Biletnikoff Award Winner Amari Cooper of the University of Alabama


Tallahassee, FL – The Biletnikoff Award recently announced that Tom Brassell, Executive Director of the Wuerffel Trophy, has been named to their National Selection Committee.

Founded by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., the Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass).  The Foundation is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994.

Founder and Past Chairman, Professor Walter Manley, II extended the invitation to Brassell.

“The Foundation is delighted that Tom has joined our prestigious Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee,” said Manley.

“We are impressed with Tom’s knowledge of college football and, especially, his superb work as executive director of the Wuerffel Trophy, one of the finest award organizations in college sports.

“Our Foundation trustees have long admired the mission of the Wuerffel Trophy and are immensely gratified that this outstanding award has recently joined the National College Football Awards Association, ” he added.

“It is a true honor for me to represent both the Wuerffel Trophy and the All Sports Association as a voter for the Biletnikoff Award,” said Brassell.

The Biletnikoff Trophy
The Biletnikoff Trophy

“Not only being able to be a part of the voting process for one of the most prestigious awards in college football, but having seen first hand what the Foundation does with scholarships for deserving high school students is absolutely amazing.

“Each year the Foundation awards thousands of dollars in scholarships for high school seniors that have persevered through physical and emotional obstacles in their lives.  The presentation of the scholarships is one of the most moving, emotional things I’ve ever been a part of in that type (banquet) of setting,” he added.

The Foundation began their work with honoring Leon county students, and will grow to 10 counties in North Florida in 2016, with plans to be offering scholarships in Bay and Walton counties by 2017.

At the 2015 banquet, the scholarships awarded totaled $850,000.

The Biletnikoff’s National Selection Committee includes over 270 notable football writers, broadcasters, commentators, national award representatives and past Biletnikoff Award recipients.

The winner is announced on the Home Depot/ESPN College Football Awards Show in early December, with the 2015 presentation being made on January 30, 2016 at the University Club in Doak Campbell Stadium at Florida State University in Tallahassee and is televised live on ESPN3.

For more information on the Biletnikoff Award, please visit

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment

You can read next