Wuerffel Trophy Announces 2018 Finalists

3 Players in Final Consideration for College Football’s Top Community Service Award

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – Nov. 19, 2018 – The Wuerffel Trophy, presented by the Chick-fil-A Foundation®, announces the three finalists for the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service.”
The 2018 Wuerffel Trophy Finalists, listed alphabetically by university, are:
  • Dalton Risner, Kansas State University, senior, offensive line
  • David Blough, Purdue University, senior, quarterback
  • Drue Tranquill, University of Notre Dame, senior, linebacker
“Once again, I’m just amazed as I look at this year’s finalists. All these young men are truly incredible, the work that they do in their communities is beyond belief and I am truly honored to have them representing the Wuerffel Trophy,” said Danny Wuerffel.
The Wuerffel Trophy, named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, is awarded to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.
Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients. The formal announcement of the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy recipient is scheduled to be made on Dec. 4, 2018.
The 2018 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be invited to attend The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Dec. 6, 2018, airing at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST, featuring interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and
Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia.
The presentation of the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 50th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 15, 2019, in Fort Walton Beach.
Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: 2017 Courtney Love, University of Kentucky; 2016 Trevor Knight, Texas A&M University; 2015 Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma; 2014 Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi; 2013 Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma; 2012 Matt Barkley, University of Southern California; 2011 Barrett Jones, University of Alabama; 2010 Sam Acho, University of Texas; 2009 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University; 2008 Tim Tebow, University of Florida; 2007 Paul Smith, University of Tulsa; 2006 Joel Penton, Ohio State University; and 2005 Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University.
The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by the Chick-fil-A Foundation®, the corporate foundation of Chick-fil-A, Inc. A not-for-profit organization, the Foundation’s purpose is to lead the company’s commitment to support youth and education in Chick-fil-A’s local communities. The Foundation’s work is focused on developing and educating young people so they can build a positive legacy and become all they can be. For more information, visit http://www.chick-fil-afoundation.org/.
The Wuerffel Trophy is also supported by its corporate partners, Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup Company and Herff Jones.
The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 24 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. For more information, go to www.NCFAA.org.
For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.
Contact: Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org, 850-585-5512
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment

You can read next