Wuerffel Trophy Announces New Directors


FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — The Wuerffel Trophy, presented annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, FL, announced today the addition of 2 new Directors to its National Selection Committee, Rece Davis of ESPN and Spencer Tillman of CBS Sports.
“We are obviously extremely excited and honored to have these 2 gentlemen added to our illustrious list of National Selection Committee members,” said 2008-2009 All Sports President, Mike Coupe’. “They bring a wealth of knowledge about (and experience with) many facets of collegiate football to the Wuerffel Trophy selection process. They becoming involved really speaks volumes for the award and what it stands for in college football.”
Davis is a 1988 graduate of the University of Alabama and has worked with ESPN in many roles since 1995. He is currently the regular season host of College Football Live, which airs daily during college football season and is also anchor of the studio crew of College Game Day (football and basketball).
Tillman was an All American running back and captain for the 1985 National Championship Okalahoma Sooners. He played professionally for the Houston Oilers and the San Francisco 49ers in his 8 year NFL career, which was capped by winning Super Bowl XXIV. Tillman joined CBS Sports in 1999 as a lead studio analyst and is currently the co-host of College Football Today with Tim Brando.
Davis and Tillman join current Wuerffel Trophy National Directors:
Tim Brando, CBS Sports College Football Today and Fox Sports Net
Bob Casciola, President/Executive Director (Retired) National Football Foundation/College Hall of Fame
Irv Cross, Retired NFL Player and CBS Sports NFL Today Co-Anchor – CEO Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Central Minnesota
Bill Curry, Retired NFL Player and NCAA Div I Coach. Currently Head Football Coach, Georgia State University
Mike Ditka – Retired NFL Player and Coach. Inductee of both Pro Football Hall of Fame (1988) and College Football   Hall of Fame (1986). Currently ESPN NFL Live commentator.
Dick Enberg, CBS Sports
Mike Gottfried, ESPN commentator. Executive Director, Team Focus
John Huarte, Heisman Trophy Winner -1964 (Notre Dame), College Football Hall of Fame – 2006
Steve Owens, Heisman Trophy Winner – 1969 (Oklahoma), College Football Hall of Fame – 1991
Rudy Riska, Executive Director Emeritus, Heisman Memorial Trophy
The Wuerffel Trophy, named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, is presented annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, to the college football player that “best combines exemplary community service, with academic and athletic achievement.” Past winners are: (2007) Paul Smith, QB, Tulsa, (2006) Joel Penton, DL, Ohio State and (2005) Rudy Niswanger, DL, Louisiana State.
   The 2008 Wuerffel Trophy will be formally announced on December 8, 2008 and will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 40th Annual Awards Banquet on February 20, 2009.


For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, contact Tom Brassell at (850)585-5512 or visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment

You can read next