FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — The Wuerffel Trophy, presented annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, FL, announced today the addition of 2 new Directors to its National Selection Committee, Holly Rowe and Kirk Herbstreit, both of ESPN.
“We are very pleased these two ESPN national sports commentators have joined the Wuerffel National Selection Committee,” said All Sports Association President Dr. Robert McEachern. “They both bring a great deal of experience and insights on collegiate football to the selection process of an award the All Sports Association believes is the ultimate for the college athlete. Their participation is another accolade for the Wuerffel Trophy and especially the principles it represents.”
Rowe is a graduate of the University of Utah where she earned a broadcast journalism degree in 1991 and has worked with ESPN in many roles since 1995. She currently serves as a college football sideline reporter for both ESPN and ABC Sports. She has also provided play-by-play of women’s college basketball and volleyball, has served as the play-by-play of Brigham Young University’s women’s sports since 1993 and was the emcee of the 2008 NCAA Academic All American Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.
Herbstreit was 4 year letter winner as a quarterback at Ohio State, graduating in 1993. He joined ESPN in 1995 as a college football sideline reporter and is currently best known as a part of ESPN’s traveling College GameDay team with Chris Fowler and Lee Corso. Herbstreit also serves as a lead color analyst for ABC and ESPN College Football and was nominated for a Sports Emmy Award as television’s top studio analyst.
Rowe and Herbstreit join current Wuerffel Trophy National Directors:
Tim Brando, CBS Sports College Football Today and Fox Sports Net
Bob Casciola, President/Executive Director (Retired) National Football Foundation/College Hall of Fame
Irv Cross, Retired NFL Player and CBS Sports NFL Today Co-Anchor. CEO Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Central Minnesota
Bill Curry, Retired NFL Player and NCAA Div I Coach. Currently Head Football Coach, Georgia State
Rece Davis, ESPN Studio Host and Play by Play announcer
Mike Ditka – Retired NFL Player and Coach. Inductee of both Pro Football Hall of Fame (1988) and College Hall of Fame (1986). Currently ESPN NFL Live commentator.
Dick Enberg, CBS Sports
Mike Gottfried, ESPN commentator. Executive Director, Team Focus
John Huarte, Heisman Trophy Winner -1964 (Notre Dame), College Football Hall of Fame – 2006
Steve Owens, Heisman Trophy Winner – 1969 (Oklahoma), College Football Hall of Fame – 1991
Rudy Riska, Executive Director Emeritus, Heisman Memorial Trophy
Spencer Tillman, CBS Sports
Don Yaeger, Long-time Associate Editor of Sports Illustrated and 4 times New York Times Best Selling Author

The Wuerffel Trophy, named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, is presented annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, to the college football player that “best combines exemplary community service, with academic and athletic achievement.” Past winners are: (2008) Tim Tebow/QB/Florida, (2007) Paul Smith/QB/Tulsa, (2006) Joel Penton/ DL/Ohio State and (2005) Rudy Niswanger/DL/ Louisiana State.
The 2009 Wuerffel Trophy will be formally announced on December 8, 2009 and will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 41st Annual Awards Banquet on February 19, 2010.

For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, contact Tom Brassell at (850)585-5512 or visit   www.wuerffeltrophy.org

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment