Wuerffel Trophy joins ESPN Red Carpet Show in December

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 29, 2015) — The Wuerffel Trophy, college football’s premier award for community service, is invited to be a part of “The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show” on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Dec. 10, 2015.

The 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be interviewed during the Red Carpet Show and invited, with his family, to attend the awards show.COllege-Football-Awards-Logo

“We are very happy to have the Wuerffel Trophy recipient join us to be recognized within ‘The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special,’” said John Vassallo, senior coordinating producer for ESPN. “The award is synonymous with achievement on the field and excellence in the community and the classroom, and therefore, a fitting award to add to the evening.”

The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show will air at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST, featuring interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach the new location for The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. Airing live on ESPN, The Home Depot College Football Awards Show honors college football’s brightest stars for their performance on and off the field.

“We are so excited about the opportunity to be a part of not only the Home Depot Red Carpet Show, but also as a part of the National College Football Awards Association team,” said Tom Brassell, executive director of the Wuerffel Trophy. “It’s going to be great to have our winner with us at the show in Atlanta and be a part of this celebration of excellence.”

The Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be announced on Dec. 8, 2015, at the National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner press conference held at the Waldorf Astoria in New York, New York. The 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will be officially presented to the recipient at the All Sports Association’s 47th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb.12, 2016, in Fort Walton Beach. For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. For more information, go to www.NCFAA.org. This is the 11th anniversary of the Wuerffel Trophy, an award named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winner who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries, in New Orleans, Louisiana, and around the country.

# # #

About the Wuerffel Trophy:

The Wuerffel Trophy is college football’s premier award for community service. The All Sports Association presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision football player who best exhibits exemplary community service, along with qualifying academic and athletic achievement. As the trophy namesake, Danny Wuerffel embodies the three categories of the award: Community Service, Academics and Athletics. Past recipients of the Wuerffel Trophy are: 2014 Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi, 2013 Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma; 2012 Matt Barkley, University of Southern California; 2011 Barrett Jones, University of Alabama; 2010 Sam Acho, University of Texas; 2009 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University; 2008 Tim Tebow, University of Florida; 2007 Paul Smith, University of Tulsa; 2006 Joel Penton, Ohio State University; and 2005 Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University.

Contact: Jessica (Atteberry) Quinn Public Relations, (404) 290-4910, jessica@jessicapr.com

ncfaa logo



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment