2008 Wuerffel Trophy Nominations Open


FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — The All Sports Association, Inc., announced today that nominations for the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy are officially open and will close at 5:00pm CST on Friday October 31, 2008.
“I am excited that the nominations for the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy are now open”, commented All Sports Association President Mike Coupe’. “This award identifies and recognizes what is really good in college football and we at the All Sports Association are extremely proud to be associated with that effort.”
Named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player that best combines exemplary community service, with academic and athletic achievement.
Following the close of nominations on October 31, the list of Wuerffel Trophy finalists will be announced on November 12, 2008 and distributed to the award’s National Selection Committee. Formal announcement of the winner will occur on Tuesday, December 9, 2008. Presentation of the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy will be at the All Sports Association’s 40th Annual Awards Dinner on February 20, 2009, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.
Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: (2007) Paul Smith, QB, Tulsa, (2006) Joel Penton, DL, Ohio State and (2005) Rudy Niswanger, DL, Louisiana State


For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, contact Tom Brassell at (850) 585-5512 or visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave A Comment

You can read next